Paul L. Caron

Tuesday, May 14, 2024

University Of North Carolina Tax Profs Receive Awards For Teaching And Scholarship

Unc faculty awards
Kathleen Thomas
and Leigh Osofsky received awards for excellence in teaching and scholarship from the University of North Carolina School of Law:

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching, awarded to Kathleen Thomas, Aubrey L. Brooks Distinguished Professor of Law and Director of the UNC School of Law Tax Institute. The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to Leigh Osofsky, William D. Spry III Distinguished Professor of Law. The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the Carolina Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled “Lynching and the Law.” This award honors a faculty member’s distinguished law journal article. Osofsky was recognized for her article, co-authored with Joshua D. Blank, Automated Agencies, 107 Minnesota Law Review 2115 (2023) [reviewed by Blaine Saito (Northeastern) here].

Legal Ed News, Legal Education, Tax, Tax Daily, Tax News, Tax Profs, Teaching | Permalink