Paul L. Caron

Saturday, June 24, 2023

Dan Shaviro To Receive 2023 Holland Medal

NYU Law News, Daniel Shaviro to Receive the 2023 NTA Holland Medal:

ShaviroDaniel Shaviro, Wayne Perry Professor of Taxation, has been named the 2023 recipient of the Daniel M. Holland Medal, recognizing lifetime achievement in and outstanding contributions to public finance.

The Holland Medal is bestowed annually by the National Tax Association (NTA) and is the organization’s most prestigious honor. It was established in 1993 in memory of former NTA president Dan Holland, a professor of economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management and an internationally recognized researcher, teacher, and practitioner in public finance.

Shaviro is the first NYU Law professor to win a Holland Medal, which he will officially receive at the NTA Annual Conference on Taxation in Denver, Colorado this November.

For a list of Holland Medal winners, see here, including:

Shaviro’s scholarly work focuses on tax policy and other fiscal policy, along with inequality and the intersections between law, literature, and social science. His books include Bonfires of the American Dream in American Rhetoric, Literature, and Film (2022), Fixing US International Taxation (2014), Decoding the US Corporate Tax (2009), and Do Deficits Matter? (1997). Before becoming a professor of law, he worked in private practice and at the Joint Congressional Committee on Taxation.

At NYU Law, Shaviro teaches various tax and other courses, including a scholarly colloquium on tax policy and public finance. “The NYU Law community has benefited greatly from the longstanding role Dan has played in fostering a high level of serious analysis in the fields of tax policy and public finance through his signature colloquium,” says NYU Dean Troy McKenzie ’00. “The Holland Medal is a fitting tribute given the broad and deep contributions he has made to these fields over the course of his career.”

Legal Ed News, Legal Education, Tax, Tax Daily, Tax News, Tax Profs, Tax Scholarship | Permalink