Paul L. Caron

Friday, November 10, 2017

Jim Hines Receives 2017 Holland Medal

Hines (2017)James R. Hines Jr., Richard A. Musgrave Collegiate Professor of Economics and L. Hart Wright Collegiate Professor of Law at the University of Michigan, receives the 2017 Holland Medal for lifetime achievement in the study of the theory and practice of public finance today at the National Tax Association 110th Annual Conference on Taxation in Philadelphia.  He is the second youngest person ever to receive the Holland Medal (Jim Poterba (MIT) was the youngest).

The Holland Medal was created in 1993 in the memory of Dan Holland (MIT).  Recent winners include:

  • 2016  Alvin C. Warren, Jr. (Harvard)
  • 2015  William D. Andrews (Harvard)
  • 2014  James Poterba (MIT)
  • 2013  Michael Graetz (Columbia)
  • 2012  Joel Slemrod (Michigan)
  • 2011  Alan Auerbach (UC-Berkeley)
  • 2010  Henry Aaron (Brookings)

Session Organizer & Chair:  Rosanne Altshuler (Rutgers)

  • Alan Auerbach (UC-Berkeley)
  • Mihir Desai (Harvard)
  • Joel Slemrod (Michigan)
  • James Poterba (MIT)

Legal Education, Tax | Permalink