Paul L. Caron

Monday, April 25, 2016

2016 Outstanding Women In Tax

Tax Notes LogoTax Notes, 2016 Outstanding Women in Tax:

Several months ago, we decided to honor some of today's outstanding women in tax. We asked Tax Notes readers and other Tax Analysts stakeholders to nominate women from the public and private sectors who have had a significant impact on tax practice and policy.

We expected dozens of nominations; we received more than 300.

We should have expected such a large response. There are many noteworthy women in the tax world. We're fortunate to be working closely with some of them, including Tax Notes contributing editor Lee A. Sheppard and Tax Analysts board members Pamela Olson and Deborah Schenck (all of whom were nominated multiple times but who were ineligible because of their affiliation with Tax Analysts).

Selecting only 10 out of such a distinguished list was a daunting task. So we assembled a committee of editors, reporters, and executives who reviewed and carefully examined each of the more than 300 nominees before coming to the difficult decision.

This year's honorees include government trailblazers, rising stars, and women who have been the distinguished standard-bearers in the tax field for years. Those being recognized include the leader of a key congressional tax committee, a distinguished jurist, an IRS official, scholars from around the world, and accomplished partners in major accounting and law firms.

Individually and collectively they influence tax administration and policy globally every day. They inspire, educate, and empower people in their areas of tax.

  • Barbara Angus (Chief Tax Counsel, House Ways & Means Committee)
  • Rita de la Feria (Chair in Tax Law, University of Leeds School of Law)
  • Diane Hay (Special Adviser, International Tax, PwC)
  • Helen Hecht (General Counsel, Multistate Tax Commission)
  • L. Paige Marvel (U.S. Tax Court Judge)
  • Nina Olson (National Taxpayer Advocate, IRS)
  • Carley Roberts (Partner, Sutherland Asbill & Brennan)
  • Marlies de Ruiter (Head of Tax Treaty, Transfer Pricing and Financial Transactions Divisions, OECD Centre for Tax Policy and Administration)
  • Karen Gilbreath Sowell (Co-director of Mergers and Acquisitions, EY)
  • Marilyn Wethekam (Partner, Horwood Marcus & Berk Chtd)

Tax, Tax Analysts | Permalink