Paul L. Caron

Monday, January 7, 2013

2012 Tax Person of the Year: Tax Policy Center

Tax AnalystsPerson of the Year: Tax Policy Center, 138 Tax Notes 7 (Jan. 7, 2013):

The Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center is the 2012 Tax Notes Person of the Year, for the indelible mark it made on the presidential campaign; nine other contenders for the title round out the feature.

  • Tanara Ashford (Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Tax Division, Justice Department)
  • Erskine Bowles (Co-chair, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform)
  • Bryan T. Camp (Professor, Texas Tech University School of Law)
  • Elizabeth A. Copeland (Partner, Strasburger Price Oppenheimer Blend)
  • Manal Corwin (Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for International Tax Affairs)
  • Scott D. Michel (President, Caplin & Drysdale)
  • John G. Roberts Jr. (Chief Justice of the United States)
  • Mitt Romney (Republican Party Nominee for President)
  • Dean A. Zerbe (Zerbe, Fingeret, Frank & Jadav)

All Tax Analysts content is available through the LexisNexisr services.

Tax, Tax Analysts | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference 2012 Tax Person of the Year: Tax Policy Center:


Romney loses again!

Posted by: michael livingston | Jan 8, 2013 2:42:07 AM

Congratulating a formerly scrupulously non-partisan organization for injecting itself into a presidential campaign? As if that's supposed to be a good thing? From what vantage point was that a good idea? I call it the Reputation Destruction of the Year, except that Roberts should have won that easily.

Maybe Tax Notes should receive a similar award for this decision.

Posted by: AMTbuff | Jan 7, 2013 4:51:17 AM