Paul L. Caron

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Call for Participants: 5th Annual Junior Tax Scholars' Workshop

The fifth annual Junior Tax Scholars' Workshop will be held this year at Notre Dame Law School from the evening of Thursday, June 10th through Saturday, June 12th. The workshop is an opportunity for junior tax faculty to meet each other and to present works-in-progress in a supportive environment. All participants present a work-in-progress, are assigned two discussants, and serve as a discussant twice. We welcome presentations at any stage, from outlines and preliminary ideas to almost-final drafts.

The workshop is open to untenured scholars who are either in or have accepted tenure-track positions and who will not have received tenure by the date of the workshop. We anticipate receiving more requests from potential participants than can be accommodated without changing the nature of the conference. We think it’s best to keep the conference limited to approximately 20 people so that (1) each participant gets a chance to present and receive feedback, and (2) each of us can read at least the short version of everyone else’s project. In order to mediate between the goals of expanding access and keeping the conference intimate, we first offer slots to attendees from prior years and to those who expressed interest in prior years, before opening the conference to new applicants. Hence, if you have already accepted a tenure-track position teaching tax courses at a law school, and if you anticipate wanting to attend the conference in future years, you should respond to this posting so that your name can be added to the list, even if you will not be able to attend the conference this year. As prior participants receive tenure, we hope that all interested new participants can eventually be accommodated, even if not always in the first year in which the applicants expressed interest.

If you are interested in participating, please e-mail Rebecca Kysar (Brooklyn) by April 15th, 2010. Questions about the selection process can be directed to any member of the organizing committee: Miranda Perry Fleischer (Colorado), David Gamage (UC-Berkeley), Rebecca Kysar (Brooklyn), Adam Rosenzweig (Washington University), and Dennis Ventry (UC-Davis). Questions about the conference itself should be directed to the conference host: Lloyd H. Mayer (Notre Dame).

Scholarship, Tax, Tax Conferences | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Call for Participants: 5th Annual Junior Tax Scholars' Workshop: