Paul L. Caron

Thursday, February 12, 2009

LSU Wins National Tax Moot Court Competition

LSU LSU (Amanda Stephens, Bridget Hillebrand, David Conachen) won the National Tax Moot Court Competition for the second year in a row, beating Florida in the final round. The competition, sponsored by the Florida Bar Association Tax Secton, was held last week in St. Petersburg, Florida.  From the LSU press release:

"This just demonstrates to law schools throughout the country what we've known for a long time -- our students can compete and be extraordinarily successful on the national stage," said Vice-Chancellor and Tax Professor Chris Pietruszkiewicz, who has served as faculty advisor to the Tax Team along with Professor Susan Kalinka for the last several years.

Professor Kalinka offers the success of LSU Law students at the National Tax Moot Court Competition as evidence of the strength and rigor of the Law Center tax program and its curriculum. "The Law Center offers nine different tax classes, many more tax classes than most, if not all, other law schools other than the law schools that offer an LL.M. in taxation," explained Kalinka.

UpdateSuffolk (James Ellison, Elisa Filman, Kimberly Patwardhan) won the Best Brief Award.

Legal Education, Tax, Teaching | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LSU Wins National Tax Moot Court Competition: