TaxProf Blog

Editor: Paul L. Caron, Dean
Pepperdine University School of Law

Monday, August 15, 2016

William Caudill Named Chair of ABA Tax Section

ABA Tax Section Logo (2012)ABA Tax Section Press Release:

William H. Caudill, a partner in the Houston, TX, office of Norton Rose Fulbright, has been selected to chair the American Bar Association’s Section of Taxation, the nation’s largest organization of tax lawyers. Mr. Caudill will serve a one-year term, to be succeeded by Karen L. Hawkins, of Yachats, OR, who will serve as chair-elect.

Mr. Caudill, who previously served as the ABA Section of Taxation’s chair-elect, has a general tax practice, with a focus on partnerships, oil and gas, real estate, and taxexempt organizations. He also assists clients in the tax aspects of bankruptcy and financially troubled commercial transactions.

Mr. Caudill has held a number of prior leadership positions with the ABA Section of Taxation. Prior to serving as the Section’s chair-elect, he was the Section’s vice chair of continuing legal education and chair of the Committee on Partnerships & LLCs. He was a member of the Section’s Council and the Section’s liaison to the AICPA. Mr. Caudill is currently serving as a member of the National Conference of Lawyers and CPAs and is a Fellow of the American College of Tax Counsel. Additionally, he has chaired the State Bar of Texas’ Section on Taxation.

Karen L. Hawkins most recently served as the Director of the IRS Office of Professional Responsibility (OPR) from April 2009 through July 2015, where she oversaw the standards of practice for tax professionals. Prior to government service, she practiced in Oakland, CA, specializing in civil and criminal tax controversy, and was a member of the faculty in the Golden Gate University School of Law, Graduate Tax Program, in San Francisco, CA. Ms. Hawkins has returned to private practice and is an adjunct professor at the Golden Gate University.

Ms. Hawkins previously served the Section as vice chair of professional services (now continuing legal education) and as a member of the Section’s Council. Ms. Hawkins was also former chair of the IRS Liaison Meetings Committee, chair of the Committee on Civil and Criminal Tax Penalty’s Penalty Subcommittee, and the Section’s liaison to the Director of OPR. Ms. Hawkins previously served as the Section’s chairelect and as a member of the IRS Advisory Committee in 2009, when she resigned both positions to become the Director of OPR.

ABA Tax Section, Tax | Permalink