TaxProf Blog

Editor: Paul L. Caron, Dean
Pepperdine University School of Law

Friday, October 29, 2010

The Five Stages of Grading

Grading The Five Stages of Grading:

Everyone is familiar with Elisabeth Kübler-Ross and her stage model of coping with grief popularly known as the five stages of grief. What you may not know is that Kübler-Ross actually developed her theory as a graduate student, basing her conception of the process of loss on the experiences one goes through over a grading weekend.

In coping with grading, it’s important for graduate students and young professors to know that they are not alone and that this process takes time.  Not everyone goes through every stage or processes the reality of grading in this order, but everyone experiences some version of at least two of these steps.

(Hat Tip: Jim Maule.)

Legal Education, Tax | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference The Five Stages of Grading:


Wow - My reward is 10-15 minutes on the Web after a certain number of tax exams graded ... and I found this. Perfect!

Posted by: MochaLite | Oct 31, 2010 2:21:28 PM