TaxProf Blog

Editor: Paul L. Caron, Dean
Pepperdine University School of Law

Thursday, June 3, 2010

IRS Names Charlotte Crane 2010-11 Professor-in-Residence

Crane IRS Chief Counsel William J. WIlkins has named Charlotte Crane (Northwestern) as the 2010-2011 Professor in Residence:

The IRS Professor in Residence reports directly to the Chief Counsel and provides advice and assistance on a variety of legal issues within the scope of his or her expertise. The program provides some of the nation’s top legal academics the opportunity to contribute to the development of legal tax policy and administration. ...

Crane has been a professor at the Northwestern University School of Law in Chicago since 1982, teaching both in the J.D. program and the Graduate Tax Program. She has been active in the Tax Committee of the American Association of Law Schools, the American Bar Association Tax Section, and currently serves as President of the Order of the Coif. ... Prior to joining the Northwestern faculty, Crane worked at the Hopkins and Sutter law firm in Chicago. She clerked for Judge Wade McCree on the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, and Justice Harry A. Blackmun on the Supreme Court of the United States. She earned her J.D. magna cum laude at the University of Michigan and her B.A. magna cum laude from Radcliffe College in Harvard University.

Prior Professors in Residence:

  • 2009-10:  Jon Forman (Oklahoma)
  • 2008-09: David Hasen (Penn State; moving to Santa Clara)
  • 2007-08: Greg D. Polsky (Florida State; moving to North Carolina)
  • 2007: Calvin H. Johnson (Texas)
  • 1990-91: Laurence B. Wohl (Dayton) & Lawrence A. Zelenak (North Carolina)
  • 1988-89: Marilyn E. Brookens (Baylor), Mark W. Cochran (St. Mary’s) & Stanley D. Neeleman (BYU)
  • 1987-88: William H. Lyons (Nebraska), Scott A. Taylor (New Mexico)
  • 1986-87: Martin J. McMahon, Jr. (Kentucky), Daniel L. Simmons (UC-Davis)
  • 1985-86: J. Clifton Fleming, Jr. (BYU) & Robert J. Peroni (Tulane)
  • 1984-85: Alan S. Schenk (Wayne State), Henry J. Lischer, Jr. (SMU)
  • 1982-83: Daniel Goldberg (Maryland)

IRS News, Tax, Tax Prof Moves | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference IRS Names Charlotte Crane 2010-11 Professor-in-Residence: