TaxProf Blog

Editor: Paul L. Caron, Dean
Pepperdine University School of Law

Thursday, January 28, 2010

WNEC, UMKC Win 2009 ABA Law Student Tax Challenge

LSTC The ABA Tax Section yesterday released the winners of the 2009 Law Student Tax Challenge:

The LSTC is a national tax planning and client-counseling competition designed to more closely reflect everyday tax practice than traditional moot court competitions. The semi-final and final rounds of the 2009 LSTC took place in January of 2010 in San Antonio, Texas during the Section of Taxation Midyear Meeting. ...

“We were pleased this year to have more teams than ever before competing,” said Stuart M. Lewis, chair of the ABA Tax Section. “Forty-three J.D. teams and 26 LL.M. teams submitted their solutions to a challenging, complex tax planning problem that involved individual and business entity issues,” he said.

J.D. Division:

  • 1st Place:  Western New England -- Brendan Sponheimer & James Murtha (Frederick Royal, faculty coach)
  • 2nd Place:  Temple -- Sara Steinberger & Travis Wheeler (Kathy Mandelbaum, faculty coach)
  • 3rd Place:  Hamline -- Kaitlyn Wahlsten & Jonathan Heinonen (Morgan Holcomb, faculty coach)
  • Best Written Submission:  Western New England -- Neill O’Brien & Casey Nunez (Frederick Royal, faculty coach)
  • Runner-Up Best Written Submission:  Denver -- Bryan Jensen & Scott Valent (Alicia Buckingham, faculty coach)
  • Semi-finalist #1:  Memphis -- Joe Aaron Mullis & Kevin Henson (William Kratzke, faculty coach)
  • Semi-finalist #2:  Denver -- Bryan Jensen & Scott Valent (Alicia Buckingham, faculty coach)
  • Semi-finalist #3:  Western New England -- Neill O’Brien & Casey Nunez (Frederick Royal, coach)

LL.M. 1st Place LL.M. Division:

  • 1st Place:  Missouri-Kansas-City -- Nicole Forsythe & Ryan White (right) (Judith Wiseman, faculty coach)
  • 2nd Place:  San Diego -- Henry Chen & Irina Goldberg (Richard Shaw, faculty coach)
  • Best Written Submission:  Missouri-Kansas City -- Nicole Forsythe & Ryan White (Judith Wiseman, faculty coach)
  • Finalist #1:  Georgetown -- Hiram Powers & Joshua Erlich (Martin Ginsburg, faculty coach)
  • Finalist #2:  Temple -- Nina Garonski & James Vandermark (Kathy Mandelbaum, faculty coach)

Participating Schools:

  • Alabama
  • Baltimore
  • Boston College
  • Chapman
  • Chicago
  • Columbia
  • Denver
  • Florida
  • Florida Coastal
  • Golden Gate
  • Georgetown
  • Hamline
  • Indiana-Bloomington
  • LaVerne
  • Lewis & Clark
  • Maryland
  • Miami
  • Michigan State
  • Missouri-Kenas City
  • New England
  • New York University
  • Northwestern
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pittsburgh
  • Quinnipiac 
  • Rutgers-Newark
  • San Diego
  • St. Louis
  • Temple
  • Tulane 
  • UC-Davis
  • Western New England
  • Villanova

More pictures below the fold:

LL.M. 2d Place 2nd Place LL.M. Team: San Diego -- Henry Chen & Irina Goldberg

ABA Tax Section, Tax, Teaching | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference WNEC, UMKC Win 2009 ABA Law Student Tax Challenge: